nathanblend

merb vs. Django

with one comment

Ever since zedgate the easily influenced are questioning their devotion to Rails. Zed’s post hasn’t really disillusioned me at all, but I’ve been more inspired by Geoffrey Grosenbach’s post to branch out into some other technologies for the sake of learning. Currently the two highest on my radar are Django and merb. I’ve been keeping an eye on Django for awhile and have built a few small utilities in it. Django seems cool but I really just don’t like python that much. To be fair, I actually didn’t really like Ruby all that much until I started doing non-trivial things. In the airport over Christmas break I wrote a small app to keep track of code snippets, kind of like a taggable pastie, to help me remember one-off unix commands. I’m going to to port it to merb and django for kicks to see how it goes.

Written by nathanblend

January 7, 2008 at 5:06 pm

Posted in Development

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s great to hear! An interest in web frameworks led me to Rails and it’s still what has led me to try out Django, Merb, and other frameworks.

    Even if you don’t end up using them full time, you can take ideas back to use in other places.

    Geoffrey Grosenbach

    January 9, 2008 at 11:00 pm


Leave a Reply

